The Preface: An Introduction to Spiritual Things with Eric

Greetings you few who are actually interested in what I am striving to achieve. Recently, I have been thinking heavily upon what it means to be “spiritual”. I’ve been listening to pod casts (Rob Bell to be specific) as well as having some genuine conversations with those that are close to me. After having had those conversations, I feel as though I should be writing these thoughts down for a number of reasons.

  1. First and foremost, this is a way that I can journal and write down my own thoughts, in a  way of processing my own spirituality, as well as contemplating that of those around me.
  2. As a way to have my voice spoken out. I am a professed Christian who sees the western christian world around him and sees spiritual decay in far too many places. The Church is supposed to be a spiritual hub, but too often I see it become an institutionalized machine that cares about the status quo way more than it does about true spiritual change. Sure, people find forgiveness, they find God, but that is only skin deep. The spiritual growth of western christianity is, in many ways (Though not all ways, and definitely not all churches), stunted, and I hope this blog to be a form through which I can encounter some of these issues, and give what meagre amount of insight and wisdom that I have into them.
  3. I had a blog and forgot to write in it, so I am just trying to pick the practice back up.

You don’t have to like me, you don’t have to agree with me. That’s okay! Know that I accept you for who you are, and I hope that you can do me the same courtesy. I am fully aware that some of my own beliefs and opinions are not that of what some would call “Conservative Christianity”, and for me, that is okay. I am trying to walk in the footsteps of those great spiritual thinkers who went before me. They truly pushed the bounds of what was “normal” and they definitely did not all see things eye to eye, but that does not make them any less Christian, or any less impactful.

I am a firm believer that, if God wanted us all to have the same beliefs and practices when it comes to following and understanding Him, He would have made us all a bunch of mindless robots. But instead, He gave us diversity and free will, giving US the opportunity to truly encounter Him in ways that strike at our most intimate and personal core. So, if you have a differing opinion, that’s fine. Feel free to message me and let me know that you disagree. That’s fine. I would prefer there to be no harsh or hateful words shared on public spaces (Facebook, twitter, etc.) If you have something to say, say it to me personally, don’t say it in front of everyone. It doesn’t help you, it doesn’t help me, and I guarantee 9 out of 10 people don’t want to see it or read it on their wall.

With that being said, thank you in advance for reading this blog and supporting it in some way shape or form. Know that I love you all quite dearly, and I sincerely hope that this blog will be as edifying for you as it is for me.

Blessings,

Eric

 

This is a personal blog and does not necessarily represent the views of Community Church or any groups mentioned here

Leave a Reply

