Seeking the Sacred in the pockets and spaces

Hello all, it has been a while since I last wrote, mainly because my life has been an absolute whirlwind the past 2 weeks. It’s been one thing after another, and while I greatly enjoy my life, I simply have not had the time to sit down and write a blog post out, which led me to thinking. One of the most crucial things that I’ve found in my life is finding the Sacred in the pockets and spaces of my life.

Everyone talks about work/life balance. Either you have too much or not enough. If you find yourself, week after week, with a completely open schedule, you’re lazy. If you are only getting 5 hours of sleep every night because you’re getting home from work so late, you’re working too much.While these are both quite extreme circumstances, the fact is, work/life balance is something that people are always seemingly striving for. Now, I work a fair amount (Though not as much as some people I know) and I feel like every single weekend is filled up with something, whether it is a youth event, or something for work, or driving up to PA to visit family, or going somewhere with my wife’s family, and the list can go on and on. The fact is, life can easily become very busy. On the flip side, I am staring a two month period this summer where I will not be having to get up at 6am every morning to go to work. In fact, I am intentionally keeping my schedule open so that I can spend time sleeping in, and writing, and gardening, and playing soccer, and generally being a “lazy” person for the summer. I, quite literally, am living “slash” between work and life.

What I have discovered in my short time in the work force, is that it is vital to recognize the sacred in your every  day life. Finding those moments in your day and life that connect you to God, whether it is the podcast you listen to on the way to work (my personal choice is Rob Bell’s), the music that helps you connect to the rest of humanity (if you want chills, check out the Pentatonix’s rendition of “Imagine”) or, if you are really like me, the freeing sensation of shutting one’s mind off for 30 minutes while you mindlessly play FIFA 17. In all of these things, in playing with your dog, in visiting with your cousin, in having a meal with your girlfriend, in the 3 hour drive to your grandparents, in your business meeting that has no business lasting 2 hours, in the fleeting 15 minutes that you have to eat lunch, in the conversations you have with your co-workers; even though these things fill your life up, and sometimes they feel like more work then play, if we take a moment to realize the beauty of the moment, when we savor the joy that can be had in these daily happenstances, we encounter the Sacred. The divine flow is constantly around us, inviting us into it. (And by the way, yes, there are times when you wake up and hate the world and don’t want to see the joy in things. Believe me, I’ve been there more often then I’d like to share)

When we are able to find those pockets and spaces and rest in them, enjoying the moment for what it is, instead of wishing we were working more or resting more, it is in those spaces that we find the fulfillment that the sacred offers. The Divine is not asking us to be lovers of humanity and the world in the future. The Divine is not asking us to accept and marvel at the beauty and diversity of creation tomorrow, it is asking us to live in the moment, today! This is something that I constantly have to remind myself, that there is joy in the life I am living now, it is just a matter of focusing on it and letting is sink into us.

Grace and Peace,
Eric

* And just as a quick disclaimer, this is not the case for everyone. I understand that there are those of us who desperately loath the lives and situations we are in. There are hostile work environments that drive us to depression. There are addictions that creep in when we are idle. I get that too. If that is the case, then I encourage you to seek professionals who help deal with these issues every single day. It may be that you need to quit your job and find something new. It might mean picking up a new hobby in your off time, it may mean counseling and prayer and a whole host of other things. I understand that it is not possible to sit and enjoy the simple things in life at times, I get it. I encourage you to seek a place where you can begin doing that, but sometimes that takes time and help from others. If that describes you, please seek out the steps you need to take to get to that place.

 

This is a personal blog and does not necessarily represent the views of Community Church or any groups mentioned here

Leave a Reply

